Play-Off Changes Confirmed

Changes to the play-off system in the three National League divisions were confirmed this weekend at the League AGM.

The play-offs have been extended to include six teams rather than the previous four, meaning teams finishing from second to seventh will compete for promotion come the end of the season.

Two-legged ties have also been scrapped, with each of the three rounds taking place at the home ground of the team who finishes highest in the league.

The teams who finish second and third will automatically qualify for the semi-finals of the play-offs, while the teams finishing fourth to seventh will face off in a preliminary round.

As a result, the revised format (taken from an official National League press release) will be as follows:

Match 1: Fourth vs Seventh
Match 2: Fifth vs Sixth

Match 3: Second vs Winner of Match 1
Match 4: Third vs Winner of Match 2

The Promotion Final will, as before, take place at the ground of the highest-placed team.

The League also confirmed that the fixtures for the 2017-18 campaign will be released on Wednesday 5 July, with the season commencing exactly a month later on Saturday 5 August.

Share this page: